top of page

Self-Portrait | Portrait Photography

I've been doing a lot of self-reflection lately and reading multiple books to help further this introspection. I can't recommend these two books highly enough:

  • Daring Greatly: How the Courage to Be Vulnerable Transforms the Way We Live, Love, Parent and Lead by Brene Brown.

  • Designing Your Life: How to Build a Well-Lived, Joyful Life by Bill Burnett and Dave Evans. This one has been especially helpful in turning my ideas into actionable steps in a similar fashion to how designers create, a.k.a. design thinking.

I've found that I too often focus on outer influences instead of identifying internal motivations. The past several weeks I've forced myself to write down specific reflections about my life, especially related to goals--professional and personal.

A few of the questions I've attempted to answer include:

  • "What are my career goals? Personal goals?"

  • "What am I really looking to get or give in a career?"

  • "What natural skills do I possess?"

  • "What tasks do I enjoy in my current position?"

  • "What activities do I enjoy in my free time? Which ones could I do all day, everyday?"

  • "Is there a version of my ideal job that is more attainable or a good first step toward that ideal position?"

  • "What steps can be implemented today to help me reach my goals?"

In the spirit of this self-reflection, I decided to get out from behind the camera lens and become the subject for a day--something I typically avoid at all cost. Special thanks to my husband for lending me his expertise.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
*****************************************
Family, Engagement & Special Event Photography in Austin, Texas

Tiffany Kaye Photography

bottom of page